DTD Hosts SC Palmetto Dramatic Association's High School Festival

The Dorman Theatre Department recently participated in the SC Palmetto Dramatic Association's High School Festival. This was the first in-person theatre festival for high school students in South Carolina since the pandemic began and we were privileged to host our guests here at Dorman. The facility was buzzing all weekend with excitement and gratitude that we were finally able to come together again safely after two difficult years apart. Our students were gracious hosts as well as incredible performers. We received numerous compliments on the Fine Arts Facilities, but the most impressive comments were reserved for our young students.


The following awards were received:


2022 South Carolina International Thespian Excellence Awards

Jake Leonard: Superior in Solo Musical, selected for Thespy Showcase

Nicole Marin Blanco: Superior in Solo Musical, selected for Thespy Showcase

Rebecca Schledwitz: Superior in Solo Musical and Solo Acting, selected for Thespy Showcase

Parker Bowen: Superior in Solo Musical

Neilie Chappell: Superior in Solo Musical

Veronica Glinyany: Superior in Solo Musical

Sarah Wren: Superior in Solo Musical

100% of all our Solo Musical submissions received Superior ratings!

2022 Palmetto Dramatic Association One Act Play Festival

Sarah Wren: 3rd place Playwriting

Taylor Morgan: Superior in Acting

Peyton Rollins: Superior in Acting

Superior in Play Performance

International Thespian Society South Carolina Chapter Select Alternate (2nd year in a row!)

Taylor Morgan and Peyton Rollins: Top 10 Blair Beasley Scholarship Finalists

Peyton Rollins was awarded the Blair Beasley Scholarship